Bleeding Heart Poem

Have you ever heard the gesture “Love  hurts”? Well let me be the one to tell you it is not just a saying, it really can hurt. We’ve all experienced some type of hurt in our lives and we all have our own ways of dealing with it. Personally, I love to write to make sense of things, and though this is not my usual style of writing poetry it was quite a journey to write this.

My heart bleeds not only from your misuse, abuse, and lies,but my heart bleeds because of all these broken family ties.

My heart bleeds not only from the pain but from all the losses not the gains.

My heart bleeds because I know you don’t love like I do. I know you don’t even see me that’s why I feel blue.

My heart bleeds because in your eyes I will never be enough, but I know I’m tough.

My heart bleeds  because to you i’m invisible.

**Can you even see me? I’ve been here all along .Can you even hear me? You continually talk over me and ignore me when I do speak.

My heart bleeds because  I don’t know you just like you don’t know me and we’re supposed to be family.

My heart bleeds time and time again because I continue to let you disappoint me .

Hoping for change. Praying for understanding that still hasn’t come.

While you sit and drink yourself to death with all the rum.

Or get lost in all the women, the men, the drugs, in the secrets, in the lies, in the circle of things that continue to break these family ties.

My heart bleeds because I am sick of all the hidden tears, hidden scars and hidden fears.

My heart bleeds so let’s cut it in two because even now, I still love you enough to give half of it to you.

My book Words Are Art: See The World Through My Eyes is now available to purchase on Amazon ! Click the word Amazon to purchase now !! (:

All rights reserved. No part of the following writings may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means without the prior written permission of the writer.

One thought on “Bleeding Heart Poem

  1. Regina Robinson says:

    So very heart felt and truly understood!! Very well put. Keep on writing for it is truly your blessed gift from the father above. I love you now and forever more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

